YWCA Northeast Indiana Annual Meeting and Peggy Hobbs Award

From left to right are Nancy McCammon-Hansen, Betsy Kachmar, Paula Hughes-Schuh and Jennifer Flanagan.

Betsy Kachmar, Assistant General Manager of Citilink, was awarded the 2018 Peggy Hobbs Service Award during YWCA Northeast Indiana’s Annual Meeting May 21st at Indiana Tech.The Award is named after Peggy Hobbs, who established the YWCA domestic violence shelter. For 42 Years, the Shelter has served as a model for all other domestic violence shelters in Indiana. The award’s purpose is “to honor a woman of outstanding personal development, achievement, and dedication as a volunteer.”

The committee was impressed by her depth and commitment to volunteer service. She is currently the acting general manager of Citilink. Kachmar has a talent for connecting groups with one another so they can share talents and resources. She has sat on the board of numerous organizations including Three Rivers Festival, and Grace Presbyterian Church. Kachmar is the 41st recipient of the award. In other business at the meeting, Kathy Lytal was named Board Chair, Cecile Weir, Vice Chair, John Rogers, Secretary, and Kate Miller, Treasurer.